Noooooo. No no nooooo.
Cons:
Teddy and Owen whyyyy. I knew it was too good to be true. I kept waiting for the bait and switch. Imagine a world where I liked them as a couple, and was getting more and more discouraged the longer their divorce story-line continued and then they kiss and I get to celebrate. Lol. Instead it's the opposite, I was so freakin' jazzed these two were splitting up and now they're falling back into bed together right after their divorce is final.... HEAVY SIGH. This is either the beginning of their grand reconciliation or it's another bump in the road and they'll both be weird about it and we'll have to deal with their bullshit some more. I want to get off this ride, please.
Richard was randomly in this episode for like two seconds and he didn't need to be? Sometimes I wonder how they break out these seasons with such a large ensemble cast.
Pros:
For the most part, the other pieces of this episode worked for me. I was maybe a little wary about the Winston vs. Teddy shit with their big surgery, and there's a fake-out that things are going wrong right before they're about to close, but ultimately they get their victory. I liked the fact that Winston was being kind of a resentful baby and Teddy refused to own up to her decision maybe being overly cautious, but they have that pre-surgery talk and they check in and affirm that they will have each other's backs. That felt like an adult resolution to the story and I was glad that it was rewarded in the narrative by a victory. I was moved by the patient's sister weeping at his bedside and telling him to make it through the surgery!
The shit going on here with Jules and Mohanty and Dr. Wright is really fascinating and I'm excited to see where it goes. At first I thought it was a typical thing of Mohanty being a jerk to Jules because Jules seems to be doing better at impressing Wright, but then when Mohanty explains about the Boston job, and her desire to impress Wright, Jules agrees to try and talk her up. This leads to Jules backing up Mohanty after a really bad surgery screw-up leads to a bad outcome for a patient. The implication here is that perhaps it's more Mohanty's fault than Jules's, and that Jules could have tried to back away from the blame, but instead she decides to keep her mouth shut. And Mohanty doesn't volunteer to take that blame, even though there's going to be an M&M about it. I wonder if this is a sign that Mohanty is a little unscrupulous, if her ambition is getting in the way of the best patient care. It could be interesting to see if there's tension between Jules and Blue over Mohanty in the future.
Miranda and Ben continue to be #couplegoals and are basically the only romantic arc in this show that consistently works for me. Miranda helps talk Ben up in plastics, and Ben lends a listening ear in supporting Miranda over her worry for her patient Katie Rogers. Lucas, after getting quite the talking-to last week from Bailey, has been trying to focus on his other patients, ignoring calls and texts from Katie, which all comes to a head when Katie is rushed to the hospital in an ambulance at the end of the episode. I really hope she's okay, I feel very invested in this and Lucas is such a tolerable character when he's not being weird about Simone!
Wes has some juicy material this week - there's a patient who has just won the lottery, and whose brother seems like a real jerk. Wes gets testy with the brother and has to be talked down. Simone is worried Wes might be anxious over hearing about Simone doing fertility treatments, but honestly he doesn't seem to care. He tells Simone he'll be out of town for a while due to a family health concern. Basically, the whole episode he just seemed... off, like something is going on with him. I'd love to see a bigger story-line for this character, I like his general vibe but there's not too much to go on yet. I also liked the resolution of the patients, where it turns out that the brother who won the lottery just needed to stand up for himself and tell his brother to stop giving him such a hard time about everything. I loved that the brother was like... "whoa, I didn't know it bothered you, of course I'll stop." And the patient was like... "wait, seriously??" I was expecting more drama too, but instead we got an example of healthy communication! Woohoo.
And, in more encouraging romance news, Amelia and Toni Wright confide in each other that both of them are single mothers, and deepen their connection! Still early days for these two, but I always have to celebrate whenever a romance on this show doesn't make me want to tear my hair out.
As always, Teddy/Owen and Jo/Link stuff immediately brings the mood down for me when watching this show. But so many of these newer characters are compelling to me; I'm happy to keep watching to see where things are going!
7/10
No comments:
Post a Comment
I'd really appreciate hearing what you think!